Curating, It Has a Golden Sun and an Elderly Grey Moon, Musée Matisse, Nice

"It Has a Golden Sun and an Elderly Gray Moon" is the first film that artist Ulla von Brandenburg has dedicated to color. This film - shot on the main stage of Nanterre-Amandiers- is a long sequence shot, without editing, a “danced film”.
“From the moment color entered one of my films, I decided that the film would be dedicated to it. The dancers are in a white space, each holding a brightly tinted sheet. ", Explains the artist.
This video which, in its own way and through gesture, implements cutting, color and the body resonates with Matisse's work to be rediscovered at the museum.

Born in 1974 in Karlsruhe, Ulla von Brandenburg lives and works in Paris. She uses various mediums and forms of different scales and supports. Her work is inspired by literature, history of art, cinema, architecture and theater. Her work is present in many collections such as : the National Museum of Modern Art, the Center Pompidou, the Tate Modern, the Kunsthalle in Hamburg or the National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art in Geneva. She is represented by the Art: Concept (Paris), Pilar Corrias Gallery (London) and the Produzentengalerie (Hamburg).

For OVNi, Matisse Museum (Nice, France), 27-28 November 2021

Courtesy Ulla von Brandenburg, It Has a Golden Sun and an Elderly Grey Moon, 2016 (photogramme) film super 16 mm transféré sur hd vidéo, couleur, son, 22 min 25 sec, Courtesy de l’artiste, Art : Concept (Paris); Meyer Riegger (Berlin/Karlsruhe); Pilar Corrias Gallery (Londres) et Produzentengalerie Hamburg

Commissariat, It Has a Golden Sun and an Elderly Grey Moon, Musée Matisse, Nice

"It Has a Golden Sun and an Elderly Grey Moon" est le premier film que l’artiste Ulla von Brandenburg a dédié à la couleur. Ce film -tourné sur la grande scène de Nanterre‑Amandiers- est un long plan séquence, sans montage, un « film dansé ».
«À partir du moment où la couleur est entrée dans un de mes films, j’ai décidé que le film lui serait consacré. Les danseurs se trouvent dans un espace blanc, chacun tenant un drap teinté d’une couleur vive. », explique l’artiste.
Cette vidéo qui met en œuvre, à sa manière et par le geste, le découpage, la couleur et le corps entre en résonance avec l’œuvre de Matisse à redécouvrir au musée.

Née en 1974 à Karlsruhe, Ulla von Brandenburg vit et travaille à Paris. Elle met en oeuvre divers médiums et formes de différentes d’échelles et supports. Son oeuvre s'inspire de la littérature, de l’histoire de l'art et du cinéma, de l’architecture et du théâtre. Son travail est présent dans de nombreuses collections telles que celles : du Musée national d’art moderne, du Centre Pompidou, de la Tate Modern, de la Kunsthalle de Hambourg ou encore du Musée national d’art moderne et contemporain à Genève. Elle est représentée par les galeries Art : Concept, (Paris), Pilar Corrias Gallery (Londres) et la Produzentengalerie (Hambourg).


Pour OVNi, au Musée Matisse (Nice, France), les 27 & 28 novembre 2021

Courtesy Ulla von Brandenburg, It Has a Golden Sun and an Elderly Grey Moon, 2016 (photogramme) film super 16 mm transféré sur hd vidéo, couleur, son, 22 min 25 sec, Courtesy de l’artiste, Art : Concept (Paris); Meyer Riegger (Berlin/Karlsruhe); Pilar Corrias Gallery (Londres) et Produzentengalerie Hamburg